Smashbox Vs Maybelline Gel Liners (Dupe Alert)


New 11

New 12

Eyeliners are one of my favourite beauty products. I find that gel liners are especially popular with me, more so than other types, as they give great pigmentation and are so easy to use. In this post I’ll be comparing two different gel liners, one budget and one high-end. Carry on reading to find out which product wins the battle.

Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner – The Budget Option

Maybelline’s Lasting Drama Gel Liner is a 24 hour liner that comes with a professional brush included. The oil-free formula is smudge and waterproof and lines the eyes with the most intense colour, whilst being super easy to use. It is safe for sensitive eyes, contact lens wearers and has been ophthalmologist-tested.

Packaging – Like many drugstore products, the packaging of this liner is not great. I’m not a fan of the metal lid and why does it not have the branding and name of the product on the lid? The frosted glass also means I can’t tell what colour I’m picking up so have to check the bottom for the shade. I definitely think the American version of the packaging is better.

Formula – I love the formula of this liner. It’s so smooth and applies evenly without tugging the lids. The super dark brown gel doesn’t flake off throughout the day, although I doubt it would last 24 hours. The thick gel is great for creating intense lines on the lids. I have this liner in black and brown and find this colour in particular so pretty.

Price – The price of this product is very low, as you’d expect from a drugstore product. For £5.99 (usually £7.99, currently on offer at Boots) you get a lot of product and it lasts for a very long time. I definitely think it’s a great product for the price and would go as far as saying it’s probably the best drugstore gel liner there is.

Rating – 2/3

Smashbox Jet Set Waterproof Eye Liner – The High-End Option

The Smashbox Jet Set Waterproof Eye Liner is a waterproof, crease resistant liner that should glide onto the eyelids easily. With the 60 second drying time you get just enough time to play with it. Once dried, you’ll have perfectly defined, smudge-proof lines. Read my full review of this product here.

Packaging – The packaging of this product is so sleek and gorgeous. I love the black lid combined with the glass pot. The small, and travel friendly packaging makes it easy to carry around. It’s not at all bulky. You can also see the colour of the product without opening it, which is handy.

Formula – This luscious, bronze coloured eyeliner is beautiful, although I feel as though the formula of this gel product is almost, if not the same as the Maybelline version. The lines do not disappear or smudge, and It glides onto the eyes so effortlessly. One of the only differences I’ve noticed is that this liner seems to have subtle gold flecks running through it.

Price – £17.00 is the price of this gel liner. I know this is a high-end product, but I’m not sure it’s that different from a high-street version, like Maybelline’s to be worth this amount. It’s the same quality with exception to the packaging (which can’t be worth an extra £11.00)! If you’re looking for a great, expensive liner then you will like this.

Rating – 2/3

New13

Swatches (Top to Bottom) – Smashbox Bronze//Maybelline Brown

Although both products have pros and cons and both ended up with the same rating, I think the winner of this battle definitely has to be Maybelline. I know the packaging of the liner is not quite blogger photo worthy, but I feel like this is a product everyone needs to have in their makeup bags. I do love the Smashshbox liner, but I’m not sure it’s worth the hefty price tag.

Have you tried either of these eyeliners? Please leave comments below and let me know if you’d like to see more of these type of posts. P.S. Sorry if this post was a little long!

 Signature

Twitter//Bloglovin’//Instagram

Don’t forget to check out my latest beauty & fashion posts for Creme De La Bride

2 thoughts on “Smashbox Vs Maybelline Gel Liners (Dupe Alert)

If you wish to leave a comment, please do...

